Kansas Department for Children and Families Office of Background Investigations Strong Families Make a Strong Kansas

DCF FINGERPRINT Q&A

Who must be fingerprinted?

- A. All residents, age 14 and older, in homes where children under DCF supervision are or will be placed. This includes current/prospective:
 - Licensed Foster Homes
 - Relative placement/kinship
 - Adoption
 - ICPC

All employees/volunteers/non-custody residents (regardless of their role or time around children) of the following DCF licensed placements:

- Group Boarding Homes
- Residential Centers
- Secure Care Center
- Staff Secure Facilities
- Juvenile Crisis Intervention Centers (as of 01/01/2019)
- Attendant Care Centers

- Are Children in DCF custody required to be fingerprinted?

A. No

- Who can take fingerprints?

A. Anyone trained to take them.

<u>Contractors/Providers</u>. For the convenience of families, employees and volunteers we encourage contractors/providers to learn how to take fingerprints.

<u>Law Enforcement Centers</u>. However, please be advised some will charge for the service and may require call ahead appointments. See associated list provided by the KBI.

<u>Some DCF Offices.</u> Foster Care Licensing Surveyors are trained printers. Please call in advance to make an appointment as Surveyors are often out of the office.

Regardless of who takes the fingerprints, all completed fingerprint cards, waivers and request forms must be sent to the address below for processing. KBI will not accept direct submissions from agencies or individuals (unless private adoptions):

Kansas Department for Children and Families Office of Background Investigations PO Box 1424 Topeka, KS 66601 – 1424

- What needs to be submitted along with the fingerprint card?

- A. The following documents are required for processing:
 - Request to Fingerprint Form
 - Signed Waiver Agreement & Privacy Statement (Federal requirement)
 - Complete/Legible Fingerprint Card

How do I know the paperwork and fingerprint card are completed correctly?

A. Documents and Instructions are posted at: http://www.dcf.ks.gov/Agency/GC/FCRFL/Pages/Fingerprint.aspx



Home > Agency Information > Office of the General Counsel > Foster Care and Residential Facility Licensing

Foster Care and Residential Facility Licensing

Fingerprint Forms

Home | Regulations | Partners | Application Packets & Forms | Licensing Updates | Fingerprint Forms

How can someone get trained to take fingerprints?

A. Regular training sessions are coordinated by DCF and facilitated by the KBI. Training lasts approximately 3 hours. Classes hold up to 15 people.

Contact DCF.OBI@ks.gov if you have additional questions or would like to attend a KBI training.

- How long does it take to get results and how will I get them?

A. With the correct (required) documentation and good fingerprints on the card, turnaround time is approximately 10 days after the documents are received at DCF.

Results are disseminated via encrypted email to the designated recipient. Please note that per statute, the recipient must be a designee of the Secretary (this includes contractors/providers).

How do I know fingerprints have been received or rejected?

A. The Office of Background Investigations sends email receipts to contractors/providers when fingerprint cards are received and submitted to the KBI.

Notification will also be sent via email if fingerprints are rejected by the KBI/FBI and a reprinting is necessary.

What is Rapback?

- A. RapBack is a service of the Kansas Central Repository that permits an agency to receive immediate notification when there is activity in the criminal history record of an individual of interest to the agency. The RapBack program tracks the additions, deletions and modifications of criminal history records as the updates take place, and informs the interested agency of that change.
 - Initial enrollment in Rapback can only be accomplished through new fingerprints.
 - Re-enrollment or removal from the Rapback program occurs annually (1 year after initial enrollment).
 - Individuals who are no longer affiliated with DCF are removed from Rapback.

- What if I was fingerprinted in July of 2018 for my current job in a group home?

- A. You will need to be fingerprinted again as part of the DCF and Family First requirement and for enrollment into Rapback.
- What if someone was removed from Rapback, then becomes affiliated with DCF again?
 - A. They will have to be fingerprinted again.
- If I'm already enrolled in Rapback as a Foster Parent, then apply to work at a residential facility, will I need to be fingerprinted again?
 - A. No. If your enrollment in Rapback for DCF purposes is current, you will not need to be fingerprinted again.
- Who to ask about whereabouts or status of fingerprint abstract results?

 DCF.OBI@ks.gov
- Who determines if a person is prohibited or not prohibited?
 - A. The Office of Background Investigations distributes results to the appropriate/requesting DCF division and/or program where independent determinations are made in accordance with state statute and/or provider agreement contracts.
- Can the person who was fingerprinted have a copy of their results?
 - A. No. Applicants CANNOT have a copy unless they are challenging the accuracy and completeness of the record after denial of employment or program acceptance.

Please submit any questions regarding fingerprints to DCF.OBI@ks.gov